Men Wrap Up Day One of 2004 Pontiac GMC Cup Race Series - BC Alpine Ski Association

Joel Taylor (Interior Okanagan Ski Team) - Nakiska Early Morning Inspection under Typical Early Morning Sky
Click for larger image

In the men's Giant Slalom, James Arnott of New Zealand took top spot on the podium with a combined time of 2:02.09. Dustin McLeay of Calgary, leader after the first run, fell early in his second run but recovered to take the silver in 2:02.48. Michael O'Flynn of Beaumont, Alta. was third in 2:02.48.

There was a familiar face in fourth spot as Darin McBeath of Calgary clocked 2:04.19. McBeath, 27, retired over the Christmas holidays. He was on the national team since 1996 and competed at the 2002 Winter Olympics.

''I'm here to help the young racers,'' said McBeath, who called it quits mainly because he was disappointed with his start on the World Cup circuit. ''I'm still in the stage of figuring out what I want to do but coaching is something I'm interested in. For sure I'm not going to leave the sport of skiing. I love it too much.''

The BC Ski Team men had a rough start to this series with only one racer completing both runs in the first GS. Whistler's Trevor Conroy had two solid runs to finish in 7th spot with a combined time of 2:04.76.

Also from BC, Whistler's Matt Holler, who was fifth after a blistering first run, wrapped up the day in 10 place, followed closely by Tyler McNabb and Joel Taylor, both of Sun Peaks and the Okanagan Zone Team, who finished 11th and 12th consecutively.

The Pontiac GMC Cup is 16-race developmental circuit with events in Eastern and Western Canada. The men's and women's overall champions receive $5,000 each.

Competition continues Friday with another GS.

Top 10 Men: James Arnott, New Zealand, two minutes and 02.09 seconds; 2. Dustin McLeay,
Calgary, 2:02.48; 3. Michael O'Flynn, Beaumont, Alta., 2:03.46; 4. Darin
McBeath, Calgary, 2:04.19; 5. Brett Haney, Calgary, 2:04.25; 6. Jeff Crompton,
Calgary, 2:04.34; 7. Trevor Conroy, Truro, N.S., 2:04.76; 8. Shawn Mackenzie,
Edmonton, 2:04.98; 9. Mark Bridgewater, New Zealand, 2:05.68; 10. Matthew
Holler, Vancouver, 2:01.09.