Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Team Canada unveiled for 21st Whistler Cup

WHISTLER, B.C. (March 27, 2013) – A team of 18 talented young skiers have been selected to represent Canada at the 21st annual Whistler Cup, which takes place from April 5-7 in Whistler, B.C.

The Whistler Cup, presented by Rio Tinto Alcan, is one of the highest-level competitions for young racers and it has helped to launch the ski careers of many famous World Cup stars. It brings together 450 of the best 12 to 15-year-old boys and girls from 19 different countries for three days of super-G, slalom and giant slalom ski racing. 

Eighteen racers have been selected to represent Canada based on results from the recent U16 Can-Am East event in Sugarloaf, Maine, and the U16 Can-Am West races in Panorama, B.C. The Canadian team will gather in Whistler for a preparation camp from April 1-4, which will help determine the makeup of the team.

At this year’s event, Canada is aiming to win back the Nations’ Cup title it won in 2011, which Switzerland claimed last year.

“I am excited about leading Team Canada as we try to win the Whistler Cup,” said Nigel Cooper, Alpine Canada’s manager of athlete development. “There are over 15 clubs represented on Team Canada, which shows excellence distributed all across the country. 

“The Team Canada preparation camp will be the perfect occasion for the athletes and staff to get to know each other and a great opportunity to prepare for the challenge of competing against some of the best U16 racers in the world.”

Following the camp, the Canadian team will be divided into boys’ and girls’ Team Canada 1, 2 and 3. Selection for those teams will be based on a combination of U16 Can-Am results and racers’ performances at the Whistler Cup Preparation Camp, which will include time trials in super-G, giant slalom and slalom.

The countries that will be represented at the 2013 Whistler Cup are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Spain, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Macedonia, New Zealand, Norway, Romania, Russia, South Africa and Serbia.


Georgia Burgess – Alberta – Banff Alpine Racers
Tyra Collombin – British Columbia – Fernie Alpine Ski Club
Stephanie Currie – Ontario – Osler Bluff Ski Club
Elizabeth Daigle – Quebec – Mont St-Sauveur
Florence Léveillé – Quebec – Mont Olympia
Ali Nullmeyer – Ontario – Georgian Peaks
Amelia Smart – Alberta – Team Panorama
Sarah Taylor – Alberta -Lake Louise Ski Club
Georgia Willinger – Alberta – Kananaskis Alpine Ski Club


Justin Beaurivage – Quebec – Owl’s Head
Frederic Courville – Quebec – Mont Olympia
Fabian Denis – Ontario – Devil’s Glen
Corey McConville – Ontario -Devil’s Glen
Max McVey -Ontario – National Ski Academy
Sam Mulligan – British Columbia – Grouse Tyee Ski Club
Riley Seger – British Columbia – Whistler Mountain Ski Club
Max Scharf – British Columbia -Revelstoke Ski Club

Keegan Sharp – Alberta – Team Panorama

To view an event schedule and for more information about the Whistler Cup, presented by Rio Tinto Alcan, go to

VIDEO: Shaw TV video coverage of the Whistler Cup is available online: 

LIVE TIMING: Follow the Whistler Cup via live timing, at 

MEDIA ACCREDITATION: Members of the media wishing to attend the Whistler Cup, presented by Rio Tinto Alcan, are asked to apply through the following link:

Alpine Canada Alpin is the national governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada. With the support of valued corporate partners along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium and the Canadian Olympic Committee, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, world championship and World Cup medallists to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community. 


On site contact: 
Janice Avon 
Whistler Cup 2013 
C 778.378.5474

Kelsey Verboom
Manager, web content | Gestionnaire du contenu Web
Alpine Canada Alpin
Suite 302, 151 Canada Olympic Road SW, Calgary, AB  T3B 5R5
C  403.479.9516

Photo courtesy of Coast Mountain Photography