CALGARY (January 22, 2018) — The Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Alpine Canada officially announced the eight athletes and three coaches nominated to represent Team Canada in ski cross at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018.

Skiers were selected based on their performances during the 2016-17 and 2017-18 FIS World Cup seasons.

Congratulations to BC's Kelsey Serwa, India Sherret, Marielle Thompson, Ian Deans (alternate) and Tiana Gairns (alternate)!!  Unfortunately Georgia Simmerling suffered a devastating blow to her Olympic dreams. In front of a home crowd at the Audi FIS Ski Cross World Cup at Nakiska, she crashed in the semi-finals and broke both legs (see full story HERE). We send Georgia our sincere wishes for a speedy recovery!!

Here's the complete list of athletes named to Team Canada for Ski Cross:

Name Event Hometown
Chris Del Bosco Men’s ski Cross Montreal, QC
Kevin Drury Men’s ski Cross Toronto, ON
David Duncan Men’s ski Cross London, ON
Brady Leman Men’s ski Cross Calgary, AB
Brittany Phelan Women’s Ski Cross Mont-Tremblant, QC
Kelsey Serwa Women’s Ski Cross Kelowna, BC
India Sherret Women’s Ski Cross Cranbrook, BC
Marielle Thompson Women’s Ski Cross Whistler, BC
Ian Deans Men's Alternate Kelowna, B.C.
Tiana Gairns Women's Alternate Prince George, B.C.

The coaches nominated are:

Name Position Hometown
Stanley Hayer Head Coach Kimberley, BC
Primoz Vrhovnik Assistant Coach Ljubljana, Slovenia
Sead Causevic Assistant Coach Vancouver, BC

Since ski cross was introduced to the Olympic program at Vancouver 2010, Canada has been an Olympic powerhouse, winning three medals, including a 1-2 finish at Sochi 2014 by Marielle Thompson and Kelsey Serwa. Canadian ski cross racers have also dominated the World Cup circuit, claiming Nations Cup titles and Crystal Globes. In the 2015-16 season and the 2016-17 season, the Canada Ski Cross team earned the most World Cup points by a nation.

Ski cross will take place February 21-23 (Days 12-14) at the Phoenix Snow Park.