Calgary, Alta. (January 23, 2018) – Alpine Canada congratulates and wishes the best of luck to the Canadian athletes named to the 2018 FIS Alpine Junior World Ski Championships. Eleven Canadians, including three women and eight men, will represent Canada on the world stage in Davos, SUI from January 30 through February 8. Athletes from Quebec, Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia will compete. Seven of the nine athletes named to the team are current Alpine Canada athletes with some World Cup experience between them.


“This is one of the first tests for countries to see if we are developing athletes effectively to be competitive with the rest of the world,” said Dusan Grasic, Domestic Director, Alpine Canada. “We are expecting strong performances from Canada’s men’s team. We are shooting for the podium and multiple top ten results. On the ladies’ side, a couple of injuries will make podium results more difficult but we know our ladies’ program is still very strong.”

Last year, Jack Crawford and Sam Mulligan led the men’s team performances, both capturing fourth-place finishes. Ali Nullmeyer, who suffered a season-ending double knee injury in the fall, finished in second-place in the slalom. Team Canada came out victorious in the Team Event.

The 2018 FIS Alpine Junior World Ski Championships are open to athletes born in 1997 or later.

Good luck to all Canadians racing!


Head Coach: Peter Rybarik

Stephanie Currie                (Osler Bluff, Ontario)

Stefanie Fleckenstein         (Whistler Mountain Ski Club, British Columbia)

Marina Vilanova                 (Mont-Tremblant Ski Club, Quebec)

Cassidy Gray                      (Team Panorama, Alberta) *will not attend in order to develop skills in North America

Amelia Smart                      (Team Panorama, Alberta) *will not attend in order to focus on her University program


Head Coach: John Kucera

Cam Alexander                  (Whistler Mountain Ski Club, British Columbia)

Jack Crawford                    (Whistler Mountain Ski Club / Georgian Peaks Ski Club, British Columbia/Ontario)

Simon Fournier                   (Mont-Tremblant Ski Club, Quebec)

Declan McCormack            (Osler Bluff, Ontario)

Sam Mulligan                      (Grouse Mountain Tyee Ski Club, British Columbia)

Jeff Read                            (Banff Alpine Racers, Alberta)

Riley Seger                         (Whistler Mountain Ski Club, British Columbia)

Liam Wallace                      (Sunshine, Alberta)

For the full event schedule, click here:

Event Page