Thompson is Sport BC Female Athlete of the Year; Holliday gets Presidents' Award - BC Alpine Ski Association

Thank you to Sport BC for hosting a spectacular awards event at Vancouver's Westin Bayshore last evening! BC Alpine was there to watch with pride as two of our own received coveted awards at Sport BC's 52nd Athlete of the Year Awards Gala.

Photo from BC Alpine website:
 PHOTO: Marielle Thompson wins Female Senior Athlete of the Year (with BC Alpine GM Anders Hestdalen)

Whistler's Marielle Thompson won in the Female Senior Athlete category, an award that recognizes extrordinary athletic performance. Thompson, one of the most successful ski cross athletes in the world, is an Olympic Gold medalist (Sochi 2014) and was instrumental in Canada Ski Cross reclaiming the coveted Nations Cup in the 2015-16 season and 2016-17 season. In 2012 she became the first Canadian to win an individual ski cross Crystal Globe as the Overall World Cup Champion, a title she successfully reclaimed in 2014 and 2017. She currently has 20 World Cup victories to her name and a total of 31 World Cup podiums. The Whistler, BC native – nicknamed 'Big Air Mar' – finished the 2016-17 season ranked first overall on the World Cup tour, claiming seven World Cup wins.

Photo from BC Alpine website: www.bcalpine.comPhoto from BC Alpine website:
PHOTOS: left – Sandy Holliday accepts Presidents' Award on behalf of husband Bruce Holliday (with Marielle Thompson); right – Marielle with her parents Rod and Pam Thompson

Vernon's Bruce Holliday was honoured with the 2018 Presidents' Awards for Alpine Skiing. Founded in 1994, the annual Sport BC President's Awards promote and celebrate the spirit of volunteerism by giving member organizations an opportunity to acknowledge and thank an individual who has demonstrated outstanding dedication and commitment to their sport. We couldn't think of a more deserving guy! Bruce was a valuable member of the BC Alpine Board of Directors for 17 years, served as Officials Chair for a number of years, was named Volunteer of the Year by Alpine Canada in 2004 and awarded BC Alpine’s Long Term President’s Award in 2013. He has filled the role of Race Chair and Chief of Race at countless events over the years and continues to give to our sport as a Technical Delegate at ski races around the province. READ MORE HERE

Photo from BC Alpine website: