Alpine Canada to celebrate winners at 100th Anniversary galas in November

Calgary, Alta. (May 13, 2019) – Canada’s ski community had their say, with thousands submitting nominations and recording their votes for the Audi 2019 Canadian Ski Racing Awards presented by Helly Hansen, which closed on April 15.

The annual awards recognize the best in Canadian ski racing performances and contributions throughout the past season. All votes and nominations were tallied and reviewed by the Audi Canadian Ski Racing Awards’ Selection Committee, and the recipients are:

  • Alpine Male Athlete of the Year: Benjamin Thomsen
  • Alpine Female Athlete of the Year: Roni Remme
  • Para-Alpine Male Athlete of the Year: Kurt Oatway
  • Para-Alpine Female Athlete of the Year: Frédérique Turgeon
  • Ski Cross Male Athlete of the Year: Brady Leman
  • Ski Cross Female Athlete of the Year: Marielle Thompson
  • Volunteer of the Year Award: Lloyd Steeves and Donna Briggs (honourable mention: Rob Osborne)
  • Builder Award: Fred Bosinger
  • Helly Hansen Resort of the Year: Station de ski Mont-Édouard
  • Club of the Year: Banff Alpine Racers (honourable mention: Big White Ski Club)
  • Coach of the Year (high-performance): Jay Keddy
  • Coach of the Year (grassroots): Martin Lochran
  • Minogue Award of Excellence: Riley Seger
  • Fan Favourite: Frédérique Turgeon

“Congratulations to all of the winners of the Audi 2019 Canadian Ski Racing Awards. Audi Canada is proud to celebrate and recognize those who embody our passion for performance, on and off the hill,” said Gene Fong, Director of Marketing for Audi Canada. “Your dedication to top the podium, foster the ski community and advance ski racing makes us proud to support our national teams and alpine programs.”

This year’s Helly Hansen Resort of the Year honouree hosted the 2019 Canadian Alpine Championships in March.

“Congratulations, Mont-Édouard, on earning the Helly Hansen Resort of the Year,” said Damien Etchaubard, Director of Marketing for Helly Hansen Canada. “Thank you for hosting the Canadian Alpine Championships, which is no small feat. With some of the best snow in the East and great off-piste terrain, I’m sure we will see you again soon.”

The recipients of the Audi 2019 Canadian Ski Racing Awards presented by Helly Hansen will be part of Alpine Canada’s official kick-off to its 100th Anniversary celebrations; awards will be presented at the 100th Anniversary galas in Torontoand Montreal November 6 and 7.

“The Audi Canadian Ski Racing Awards are all about celebrating the performances and contributions that have resonated with our ski community here in Canada, and this year’s recipients have certainly made their mark,” said Vania Grandi, president and CEO of Alpine Canada. “Thousands of Canadians took the time to nominate and vote, and that’s a testament to the strength of our ski community. I am looking forward to recognizing these deserving winners in November as we launch our 100th Anniversary celebrations.”