Photo from BC Alpine website:

Event: U14 Teck Coast Zone Race

Dates: February 8 and 9, 2020

Location: Whistler Mountain – Ptarmigan run

Hill Conditions: Fresh groomed, hard packed both days

Weather Conditions: Cold, sunshine and clear skies both days

Race Structure: Saturday’s races were comprised of 2 one-run GS races; Sunday’s race was a two-run combined timed GS race
Photo from BC Alpine website:

Henry Yeigh, U14 Lead Coach – (post race) – "This weekend’s U14 zone race was an exceptional display of youth ski racing. Racing on a tough venue, our athletes pushed themselves out of their comfort zone yielding many personal best results. Best of all was how the athletes carried themselves through the weekend showing what an exceptional young group of people they are. Big shout out to WMSC Alumnus, Broderick Thompson, for coming out and helping with the races this weekend. Giving back to youth sport during his return from injury was very positive for our group!"

Bob Armstrong, U14 Assistant Coach – (post race) – “The kids had a tremendous weekend racing on the Dave Murray National Training Center, for many it was their first time running a full length GS this year! Blue skis, low temps and tremendous snow conditions allowed for a great event. As coaches, we were very impressed with the level of racing throughout the weekend and the fantastic attitude displayed by the racers. The volunteers provided us with an incredible race environment and to all those that helped, we say a massive thank you”.

Podium/Awards (listed below in order first, second, third)

Day 1 Saturday Event: Race 1 GS

Ladies: Stella Buchheister (Whistler), Maeve Pretty (Grouse), Brooke Irish (Grouse)

Men: Thomas Legg (Whistler), Joseph Gibbons (Whistler), Braden Aitken (Whistler)

Day 1 Saturday Event: Race 2 GS (note tie for first in Men)

Ladies: Stella Buchheister (Whistler), Lola Gilbert (Whistler), Maeve Pretty (Grouse)

Men: Thomas Legg (Whistler)/Joseph Gibbons (Whistler) – tie for first, Thomas Hung (Grouse) – third

Day 2 Sunday Event: GS

Ladies: Maeve Pretty (Grouse), Lola Gilbert (Whistler), Vanessa Young (Whistler),

Men: Joseph Gibbons (Whistler), Ihsan Salari (Cypress), Braden Aitken (Whistler)

COMPLETE RESULTS HERE                         

Photo from BC Alpine website:
Sarah Strother – Chief of Race

Rob Cook – Chief of Course

Laura Harley – Chief of Race Administration

Vicki Schenk – Race Administration

Mark Savoy – Chief of Timing

Abbie Milavsky – Chief of Volunteers

Rob Cook – Chief of Slip Crew

Alevtina Akbulatov – Chief of Gates

John Legg – Starter

Julian Deck – Start Referee

Brigitte Schonner – Finish Referee

Jennifer Abbott – Chief of Manual Timing

Laurie Grant/Christine Zucht – SAM

And many, many more parent volunteers!

~ Report submitted by Christine Zucht, WMSC