Team BC got off to a “golden” start today in PEI, with Roxy Coatesworth, of Golden, BC, claimed the women’s super-G at the 2023 Canada Winter Games in Prince Edward Island, winning BC’s first medal of Canada’s largest multi-sport event.

ROXY COATESWORTH – Medal Ceremony Interview

With an aggressive mindset, the 16-year-old Black Dog Ski Club racer charged the course on Crabbe Mountain, taking the win comfortably with a time of 45.08 seconds, nearly a second ahead of the silver medallist Charlie Houde, of Team Quebec, and Rebecca Pelkey of Team Alberta who tied for second in 45.93. Coatesworth Team BC teammate Hannah Jensen, of Whistler, BC., finished just off the podium in fifth position.

The course was a good set and fun to go down,” said Coatesworth, who was the U16 national champion last season in both super-G and slalom. “Everyone was really hyped for the event today and the plan of attack was delivered and everything went really well.”

In the men’s event, Team Quebec was dominant on the day, taking the top 6 positions with Marek Novak, of West Vancouver, the top BC skier in 17th.

The super-G was the first alpine event of the Canada Winter Games, with the women’s and men’s giant slalom scheduled for tomorrow Tues., March 5th. See here for the full alpine schedule.

Alpine skiing has been a part of the Canada Winter Games since 1967, with previous winners such as current World Cup race Broderick Thompson, as well as many other such as Jan Hudec and Brit Phelan.

Final Results (top 5 and BC skiers)
Tuesday, February 28, 2023
Crabbe Mountain


  1. British Columbia Roxy Coatesworth 0:45.08
  2. Quebec Charlie Houde 0:45.93
  3. Alberta Rebecca Pelkey 0:45.93
  4. Quebec Arielle Desrosiers 0:46.20
  5. British Columbia Hannah Jensen 0:46.44

Other Team BC:
14. British Columbia Madison Sherriff 0:47.96
19. British Columbia Eva Wyse 0:48.73
22. British Columbia Maika Lennox-King 0:48.82
26. British Columbia Rylie Clark 0:49.33
31. British Columbia Amy Milne 0:50.53


  1. Quebec Philippe Savard 0:44.37
  2. Quebec Émile Piché 0:44.54
  3. Quebec Luka McKinlay 0:44.82
  4. Quebec Louis-Thomas Cantin 0:45.01
  5. Quebec Henri Michaud 0:45.12

Team BC:
17. British Columbia Marek Novak 0:47.25
21. British Columbia Nick Kokot 0:47.46
26. British Columbia Maddox Johnson 0:48.08
27. British Columbia Sacha Jirasek 0:48.29
34. British Columbia Avery Tymchyna 0:48.84
39. British Columbia Gavin Russell Santoro 0:49.45